The Day My Father was Born by: Nuala Molloy Moran

a037c566-9d4d-4c03-a068-e8c2a8eff272 (2)

The Day My Father Was Born

 

The day my father was born

Surely it was a sunny morn

With all the birds keeping a tune

While flowers danced in fancy bloom

 

And for sure it is this your mother did say,

“What a fine boy I’ve been blessed with on this special day!”

Your father, too, must have been proud as punch

To add this divine lad to his Irish bunch

 

If it wasn’t for my father,

What would my mother do?

When men like him

Are so far and few

 

All five children agree

When they pray

Thank God for my father

And that special day

 

And the angels in heaven knew why

They danced that morn,

‘Tis that was the day my father was born!

 

–Nuala Molloy Moran c 1997

(For Dad…10/04/1929 to 03/15/2012)

Standard

Leave a Reply

