Extraterrestrial Brilliance by: Nuala Molloy Moran

diamond_23-2147516987

Extraterrestrial Brilliance

 

Father was a massive star undergoing nuclear fusion when his gravitational collapse occurred.  Mother was a neutron star heating up and was close to him at the perfect time.

They soon became stellar companions and carbon fusion ignited them in the night.  This resulted in Supernovae so superb thus outshining the sun with their magnificent explosion.  The result was more than a clandestine moment, I would have to say.

I was then born—a Supernova remnant made of gas and dust.  Yes, a star was born.  Time stood still for me as I roamed the galaxy.  I was then orbiting the sun and became an asteroid.

I ventured out of the galaxy and became a comet sailing through the sky and was a rare sight.  I found myself plummeting and my pre-solar grains being buried deep into the Earth with me.  I was between the crust and the Earth’s mantle and there I stayed for what seemed like forever.

What a stroke of luck.  A volcanic eruption took place and I was brought closer to the uppermost of the Earth’s mantle.  The magma brought me higher and higher and the magma and I drifted upward together.  Finally, I was at the surface of Earth.

I was a formed carbonato and had fallen from my interstellar environment:  A nano diamond of extraterrestrial origin.

The miners found me.  Being an uncut diamond, I was not showing all my prized optical qualities.  No diamond in the rough can ever achieve full potential alone.

Soon the flawed material, the matrix was removed and my lustrous brilliance was unveiled.  I was soon admired for being so optically isotropic and dazzling.

None would know the story of my Supernovae parents, of my living in the galaxy and orbiting the sun.  They would know I was pulled from the dirt and the mire.  My luminosity and radiance would not be compared by any other stone.  My past, my present, and what I endured was for me to know alone.

This I knew though, I was born to shine.

Words written by:  c Nuala Molloy Moran

Later, this was turned into a spoken word piece with Music/Performance/Production by:  Newell Bate)  Penny Danger –Demo-Licious CD, released c July 13, 2010, All Rights Reserved . Hear it – #12:  https://pennydanger.bandcamp.com/album/demo-licious

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Extraterrestrial Brilliance by: Nuala Molloy Moran

  1. pennydanger says:

    ( had a problem since this would not post after two hours….the “edit” button would not appear. I fixed it by hitting “Like” last night.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

